Getting to know RNPF Playwrights: Charlyne Blatcher Martin

Untitled-1
Rockford New Play Festival: Hi, Charlyne. We’re so happy to have you as part of the Festival. Would you mind telling us where you’re from and where you live now?
Charlyne: I am from Rockford, IL and currently, live in Rockford,IL.
RNPF: Can you tell us a little about Epiphany and what inspired it?
Charlyne: My play, Epiphany, is about two sisters. After years of a one-sided relationship in which the elder sister has loved, protected, and supported the younger sister, a disturbing truth is revealed that changes the relationship. This play was inspired by observing how negative sibling relationships and behaviors carry over into adulthood.
RNPF: What playwrights, authors or other artists do you consider as major influences of your own work?
Charlyne: Jane Austin, Neil Simon, Shakespeare, Van Gogh, August Wilson, Gene Roddenberry, and many others.  I am drawn to artists, playwrights, and authors who produced works from personal experiences-parent/child; siblings; family; romantic relationships and historical events. I guess that covers a lot of ground. Generally, My plays and stories explore all of those areas plus some science fiction and social issues.
RNPF:  What appeals to you about writing for the stage vs. other forms of dramatic storytelling?
Charlyne: Writing for the stage is that anticipation of watching your characters come to life. They move and breathe. I hear them in my head as they are being created during the writing process. But, to be able to physically see them is that moment of “They are Alive!”
RNPF: What’s next for you? Any projects you’re currently working on or plans for the near future?
Charlyne: I have a few projects that are calling my name. Most of which began a few years ago and some very new. I am working on a short play and a full length play that will spin off from it. Thinking of readings and possible productions are always a part of that process. I’m compiling poems and short stories that have accumulated over the years. I’m thinking of legacy these days. What will I leave to my children and grandchildren so that they may learn more about the creative life within me? My plays, poems, and stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

